Vacation…

announcement_20days_2016

Today’s topic for the 20 days of chill writing challenge is….VACATION

After thinking about today’s topic I thought I would spin it a little and go into a perspective of a mental vacation

Meditation and mindfulness has really crept into my life this year.  At the start of 2016 I decided I was going to do a better job of taking care of my mental health.  During one of my visits to my counselor, he suggested meditation as a way of coping with my anxieties and to maybe help my mood. This suggestion of meditation was mentioned to me quite a few months back, and I just sat on the idea.  I thought this isn’t for me.  It seems silly.  Is this really going to help?  But at the same time, what do I have to lose.  The latter came about when I decided to focus inward this year.  Why not try it?

My counselor had mentioned that UCLA had a Mindful Awareness Research Center and that the website had free guided meditations.  I started listening to them and really found it helpful.  My favorite is the Loving Kindness Meditation.  I have listened to that recording so many times, but I find comfort in it.  Meditation, for me, is a mental vacation.  It relaxes me, it reduces my stress, helps me cope with my chronic pain,  and it brings me back to the moment.

I encourage you to check it out (Link to UCLA Meditations).  There are many guided meditations to try from breathing meditations to body scans.

Meditation is De-Concentration

Bee_CaptureLifesLittleMomentsToday’s post was a part of the, “20 days of chill” writing challenge that is hosted by PJ at hoohaablog.com.  If your interested in what the other participants are writing, please check out his blog, as that is where we are all linking up.  Please feel free to Like, Comment and Share 🙂

6 thoughts on “Vacation…

  1. webfoot5

    An interesting take on this day’s theme. I view any kind of vacation away from my normal surroundings a mental vacation as well. Something different and out of the ordinary really helps me see things with a new or better perspective again.

    Like

  2. This is something I’ve wanted to learn for a long time. I think meditation would help me a lot a times. I’ve bookmarked the website so I can do back in and dive into looking around. Hopefully it’s something I can utilize! It’s awesome that it’s helped you out so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A mental vacation, or meditation, takes care of our mental selves the same way getting away from the everyday grind does. I feel that way sitting on the beach watching the waves and listening to the birds.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.