Three Books On My Shelf

I am usually a James Patterson person, and don’t get me wrong, I have my stack of those to read too. But, in making my 2016 goal to focus on myself and my mental well-being, those books are being put on the back burner and will have to wait for a latter date.

The 3 books that I have on my shelf to read are…

Three books on my shelf to read are Rising Strong, The Gifts of Imperfection and Furiously Happy.

  1. Rising Strong by Brene’ Brown
  2. Gifts of Imperfection by Brene’ Brown
  3. Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

As I have stated in a earlier post I am in the middle of an online class that is taught by Brene’ Brown, the author of the first two books on my list. *Side note: She has a free class on her site (www.courageworks.com) called “The Anatomy of Trust”.  It’s nice because it is self-paced so it’s perfect…(I am actually a week behind, based on what is “recommended” for the Living Brave Semester… this weather lately has thrown a kink into my deep thinking ability).  Everything is done through videos and online lessons so you can view them at any time.  If you have extra time and appreciate her work, I would recommend her classes.

What are you doing to work on your goals in 2016?

Honestly, I have never been one to read self-help or motivational or inspirational books.  I would certainly buy them, but I would never sit down and actually read them.  They scared me. There was too much to uncover and work through if I did that.

But, I am trying to be more open, for the sake of working toward my goal, and I am learning a lot. However, I have found that when I get close to a situation that “hits close to home”,  I avoid. We all have our coping mechanisms that come into play, our shields, so to say, that come up when we face a situation that we don’t like.  But what I have taken away from Daring Greatly is, what would happen if you faced that situation as your true and authentic self with no shields. It’s a hard thing to do.

The vast amount of information that I have taken away from the 1st ever book like this that I have ever read from cover to cover, I have a new-found appreciation for books that help to make me a better person.

What books are on your “to read” shelf?

Bee_CaptureLifesLittleMoments

Follow me :

Twitter @PHOTOG_GAL 

Facebook Capture Lifes Little Moments

Instagram Capture Lifes Little Moments

 

 

One thought on “Three Books On My Shelf

  1. Unfortunately, having to downsize means getting rid of things you’d rather keep, like books. And with the internet, I don’t do much reading anymore, so I don’t have a list of books I’d like to read.

    While I like Richard North Patterson, my favorite authors are Stephen King and Dean Koontz. One of Koontz’s best books is Sole Survivor, which I highly recommend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.